Skip to content

Cream of Broccoli + Blue Cheese Soup

10 November 2011

Cream of Broccoli + Blue Cheese Soup

 

I love soup :)

That statement has never been more true than it is in these early winter months in Scotland. I know the calendar technically says it’s still fall, but anyone who has taken a morning stroll anywhere in Scotland in recent weeks knows that winter is definitely making its presence felt.  There is something so comforting about a hot bowl of soup on a frigid winter’s day, and I’m always on the lookout for new and interesting soup concoctions.

I’d never heard of Broccoli and Blue Cheese soup until my lovely Scottish friend Gillian mentioned it casually last year. Most Americans will be familiar with Broccoli and Cheddar soup, but I was personally unaware of any other broccoli/cheese soup combinations. I’m very fond of blue cheese, and was instantly intrigued by the idea.

It took me over a year to get my act together and actually make a batch of this fantastic soup. I used a recipe from the December 2007 version of Olive magazine, also available on the BBC’s Good Food website. I adjusted the ingredients slightly to my personal taste – reduced the amount of onion, increased the amount of cheese, and added several tablespoons of cream – and the outcome was AMAZING. The recipe that follows is definitely a new favourite, and I look forward to making many more batches over the winter months. Sprinkled with rich, crumbled blue cheese and served with saltine crackers or warm, fresh bread, this recipe is very close to true soup perfection.

Buon appetito!

 

CREAM OF BROCCOLI + BLUE CHEESE SOUP

Serves: 4

 

2 tsp olive oil

1 small onion, roughly chopped

1 liter vegetable stock

1 large potato, peeled + cubed

300 grams (about 1 large head) fresh broccoli, roughly chopped

3 tbsp fresh single cream

150 grams strong blue cheese (such as Roquefort or Stilton), crumbled

 

1.  Warm olive oil in a large soup pot over medium heat. Add onion and cook until soft, about 5 minutes. Add vegetable stock and potato and simmer until potato is tender, about 10 minutes.

2.  Add the broccoli and cook for 3 to 4 minutes until just tender but still bright green. Transfer soup to a blender, add single cream and 100 grams of blue cheese and blend until smooth.

3.  Ladle soup into serving cups or bowls, sprinkle with remaining crumbled blue cheese, and serve hot with saltine crackers or warm, fresh bread.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Skve and Marilee permalink
    24 June 2012 11:15 am

    We need to try this one together when you come home for your visit next month. I’m so far behind in checking my e-mails that I totally missed seeing this recipe from last fall. I certainly know where you got your love of bleu cheese. This looks delicious!!

Leave a Reply

