Skip to content

Beef Stew

1 December 2012

Beef Stew

 

I know, I know –  this doesn’t look like a recipe for turkey leftovers and isn’t – *gasp* – holiday related. While I love this time of year as much as the next girl – I got positively GIDDY picking out my Christmas tree yesterday – I want to keep a bit more variety in my diet over the holiday season. That isn’t to say that holiday recipes aren’t right around the corner on this blog – they are! – but I’m starting December off with something a bit more out of the box.

My boyfriend has been clamoring for “less turkey, more beef” as of late, and I was more than happy to oblige with this hearty, delicious beef stew. I made a number of substitutions to the original 5-star recipe featured on Paula’s Home Cooking (Food Network); I added a wee bit of extra cornstarch to achieve my desired consistency and, as usual, pitched the onion in favor of chopped potatoes and mushrooms. While I loved the result, I will probably omit the celery as well when I make this stew in the future. In any event, the original recipe is featured below – I encourage you to tinker around with it as you like.

Fair warning – this stew smells DIVINE while cooking – my boyfriend and I were both starving within 15 minutes of placing it on the stove!

Buon appetito!

 

BEEF STEW

Serves: 6

 

2 pounds stew beef

2 tbsp vegetable oil

2 1/4 cups water, divided

1 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 clove fresh garlic, peeled

1 or 2 dried bay leaves

1 medium onion, chopped

1 tsp salt

1 tsp granulated sugar

1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper

1/2 tsp paprika

Dash of ground allspice or ground cloves

3 large fresh carrots, sliced

3 ribs fresh celery, chopped

2 tbsp cornstarch

 

1.  Brown stew beef in hot oil over medium-high heat. Add water, Worcestershire sauce, garlic, bay leaves, onion, salt, sugar, pepper, paprika and allspice. Cover and simmer 1 to 1 ½ hours.

2.  Remove bay leaves and garlic clove. Add carrots and celery, cover, and cook for 30 to 40 minutes longer.

3.  To thicken gravy, remove 2 cups hot liquid from pot. Using a separate bowl, combine ¼ cup water and cornstarch until smooth. Mix a little hot liquid and return mixture to pot. Stir to incorporate and cook until bubbly.

4.  To serve, ladle hot stew into bowls.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

