Skip to content

Masala Chai Tea

9 November 2013

Masala Chai Tea

 

I’ve been wracking my brain all week trying to write something clever and/or witty for this blog post, and I’ve officially got nothing. As in: nada, niente, nichts, bupkis. My conclusion? I’d rather sip my chai than write about it, and I’ve put off posting this recipe long enough. Without further ado, I give you –  masala chai!

 

MASALA CHAI TEA

Makes: three 8-ounce servings

 

Note: All of the following ingredients may be varied to suit individual tastes. When I make it again, I will probably omit the anise, add more cardamom and perhaps use slightly more brown sugar (I enjoy my chai very sweet!). Feel free to tinker around with this list – and add other spices, if desired – until you’ve made your perfect cup of chai.

 

1 cinnamon stick

1 tsp whole black peppercorns

1 star anise

6 whole cloves

4 cardamom pods

1-inch piece fresh ginger root, sliced thinly into rounds

2 1/2 cups cold water

2 1/2 cups whole milk

3 tsp loose leaf black tea (preferably Assam or Darjeeling)

1/4 cup packed light brown sugar

 

1.  Combine the first six ingredients in a medium-sized (preferably spouted) saucepan. Using a mallet or the back of a heavy spoon, lightly crush or bruise the spices. Add the water, milk and tea leaves, heating over medium heat until small bubbles appear around the perimeter of the pan. Stir to prevent the milk from scalding and continue heating until the chai comes to a boil. Turn off heat, stir well, and allow to steep for 3 to 5 minutes.

2.  Divide brown sugar equally into three individual tea cups. Strain chai through a fine mesh sieve and pour into cups, stirring well before drinking.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 9 November 2013 4:38 pm

    Lovely post. Thank you for sharing.

  2. 14 November 2013 10:18 pm

    I’m with you: I’d much rather sip chai than write about it. :) I brew my own chai from whole spices, too—it’s great with almond milk!

    • 15 November 2013 1:56 am

      I had a friend make it with coconut milk the other day, which also sounds intriguing! I love that there are so many variations – it makes me excited to try them all!!

Leave a Reply

